There’s always the homemade version

Ok, so I work in a glorious building, right by Central Park which has a phenomenol cafe. A gourmet spread for both breakfast and lunch, this cafe is healthy and fresh.

But no matter how healthy an eatery is, they also want to make everything taste better than just ‘good’. That’s where the extra sugars, sodium or even fat comes in.

I had a granola and blackberry parfait from the cafe, and also decided to try my own. The difference? The homemade one was not only heathier but also more satisfying. For one, the cafe used a fuller and more sugary granola (read bigger chunks means more syrup or oil to keep them bound together. The yogurt was thinner (compared to my fat free rich and thick greek yogurt). The granola I used too, was low fat, less concentrated with sugar and I could monitor how much to put in.

Moreover its more economical!

So if you have the time, invent your homemade versions of your favourite foods.

Leave a comment